Avoid Facebook Scams


Facebook has approximately 1.06 billion monthly active users, as on Dec' 2012(Source: cNet), & this number is increasing @25% per month, as more and more people go online & create facebook profiles. Therefore it is presumably correct that infiltration occurs in the social arena for 'phishing scams', 'malicious spams', & 'malware'. While working online, scams & spams are unavoidable, but we have to take precautionary measures to avoid these nuisances in order to protect both our privacy & computer system.

Spam Description:

Some entities, may be known to you will persuade you to install & share an app in your facebook wall. If you authorize the app to enter your wallpost &  share the same to reach your friend, the spam message will move quickly through the facebook profiles, & the process continues endlessly. Many of these messages are designed to trick facebook users into cutting & pasting malicious code into the address bar of the web browser or by clicking an embedded link (url shortner link) that takes you off facebook, where you could become a potential victim to malicious malware and phishing scams. Facebook does not have adequate security control system to eradicate or detect such type of malicious acts, before it becomes rampant in the entire social medium. 
  • Look into the message carefully. Is it of the same weight as other messages sent by your friend previously? Suppose your professional friend send you a typical message: "Oh! Look at the Video", along with some other unnecessary characters, chances are that it was not sent by your friend, & you must not click it.
  • If an unconventional message appears multiple times in your newsfeed, it may be a spam.
  • Be careful about the installation of apps.
  • Be wary about the short links posted to your walls by your friends, usually who never posts anything or who posts intermittently.
  • Always verify the urls before clicking it. If a url indicates to redirect you to YouTube, then you cleverly move the mouse cursor over the link without clicking it, & you will know the details of the original link in the footer of your browser.
  • If you click a link to find unnecessary characters or texts or videos, then remove the link from your wall, without clicking any further.
Enable Dislike Button:
A scam circulated among the facebook users about enabling a 'Dislike' button. This scam was propagated in order to fulfill the people's desire about a 'Dislike' button. Messages claiming to offer a 'Dislike' button opposite to 'Like' button, but replacing the 'Share' button appeared lower down alongside 'Link' & 'Comment' was likely to fool some users into believing it genuine. Scammers cracked the facebook security to do the job. Clicking on the link was not only forwarded the fake message 'facebook Dislike button' to all your online friends, but also run obfuscated javascript on your computer system.  
Remove the Malicious App: 
  • If you have installed the app without knowing details of it, make sure to delete the post of your wall in order to prevent others to see & 'Like' the message for unnecessary spreading of the same. 
  • Remove the app from your facebook account, & revoke the access or authorization given to the app by you.

Track Facebook Scams:

Here is a list of websites to track the latest facebook scams, & find their details.

Facecrook Facebook Page,
Sophos Facebook Page,
Naked Security Blog.
Honeywell Ademco 944WH-M Magnet Only for 944WH

Enterasys Networks - DSHSS7-U-LIC - Dragonhostsensorswlic(unlimited)


No comments: